#SupportLocal, what a journey!

It was another cold Saturday morning, rugged up and powering around the Patterson River on our regular walk. Brad and I talking all things life, mental health and Port Adelaides current premiership form (this is when I usually tune out).

Talking about contributing to the community in a meaningful way, something I admire Brad for doing so well, I had seen a local business post to support local during these times (Mastering Movement was that business, thank you Sophie) and came up with the idea to buy an item from one place everyday and post it to social media. I raised it with Brad and he was instantly on board. The next day we were away. Five weeks later, we have supported nearly 70 different local businesses.

We agreed on another of our walks that at the end, we’d do our top 5 local businesses. I will mention that we love each and every local business we supported, we just enjoy causing controversy!

James’ Top 5:

  1. Mastering Movement, Chelsea.
    This was my number 1 because they were the reason the idea came about. Without their post, I wouldn’t have thought of the idea. Oh, they also provide an amazing service, will fix any issues you have with your body!
  2. Lord and Master Barber Chelsea
    L&M have been massive supporters of mine and show genuine care and interest each time I get my hair cut. Malcolm is a gem of a person and also super generous.
  3. Correct.
    Correct has been there for me through thick and thin, more specifically, Charlie Ross. He has motivated me to stay in shape and push towards those goals I’ve always wanted to hit. Thanks mate.
  4. Port Phillip Pizza
    Has been my favourite pizza shop ever since I was a kid. They always provide a great pizza that’s value for money and great service.
  5. The Little Coffee Place
    Great memories of stopping in here on the way to work with Dad. Used to be a hot chocolate for me, but would make the hour and 15 minute drives with Dad that little bit more special.

Brad’s Top 5:

  1. Freddies Cafe
    Freddie is a very generous man and has worked his backside off 7 days a week to keep us coffee addicts sorted!
  2. DMUL Designs
    A no fuss operator, made a great jumper and T-shirt for James and I. I’m looking forward to the mugs I ordered 🙂
  3. Parcha
    Yonja also owns Jac N Jean next door, but the kebabs and coffee at Parcha get the tick. Simply delicious.
  4. Poll’s Place
    Pauline went above and beyond for the cake and treats for Tae and my family. Absolutely delicious and so easy to work with.
  5. Aspendale Trophies
    Mick and Rosie Sullivan are great local people who give a lot to sport in our community. I hope I win the trophy 🏆 I bought!

The goal of doing this, was to support local businesses in a small way, but also spark interest in other’s heads to consciously make a choice to support the local coffee shop instead of the closest McDonalds.

I think we have achieved this and if not more, it’s been very rewarding and we have both enjoyed it.

Continue to #Supportlocal as these tough times continue. When Stage 4 eases, businesses will need all they can get to re-open and thrive once again.

Peace and love ✌️❤️

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑